My boss noted recently that Wednesday is a challenging day for me. It might be the day when my weekly sleep deprivation starts to catch up with me and I know that I still have another day of lecture yet to come for the week. It could be a number of variables. Al I’m aware of is the exhaustion of a half week’s worth of lectures, paperwork, and the million other tasks that seem to catch up with me about midweek.

It occurred to me that I hadn’t posted a blog in over a month, and that’s a by-product of working constantly on the textbook that I’ve co-written for publication this fall. We’re in the midst of pre-production work that amazes me with the sheer volume of requests and how tired I am when they’re done.

The good news is that life is becoming progressively more stable and happy with each passing week. My husband and children are  growing happier and relaxing into our life here.  I’ve been informed that my job is secure for the next couple of years and that I’m among the best teachers in the world (not a formal ranking, mind you)…but I still question my abilities from time to time. Damn impostor syndrome…and all the people who were so threatened by me that they tried to put me down. This place is healing a lot of accumulated wounds, from the obvious ones (like my knee) to the hidden ones.

So what’s my inspiration today? Maybe it’s the contented silence of my happy family and kitty that has the inspiration.

Or maybe it’s the joy in these sweet faces.

First time at our new Six Flags