Welcome to Renplus!

In this blog, I offer no judgments, only thoughts to ponder. I hope to offer you, my cherished readers, a chance to reflect on your journey. I will offer you a quote to consider in each of my posts, as well as reflections on my own journey. Comment as much or as little as you choose. My hope is that something that someone says here may encourage you to grow, to take chances, and to live as fully as you can.

“Nature often holds up a mirror so we can see more clearly the ongoing processes of growth, renewal, and transformation in our lives.” – Anonymous

As we look into the mirror, what do we see? A few wrinkles here, a sag or bulge there, or the need for a haircut or shave are the most obvious outward manifestations of the shell that houses the soul. I don’t know about anyone else, but I sure cannot see my own soul — at least not with my physical eyes. The conundrum is that soul growth is the growth that truly matters. The physical shell will waste away in time, but the soul is eternal. So how do we measure the growth of our soul? Where have we grown or transformed and where might we find new life?

As I write this message today, I find myself in the midst of a spiritual growth spurt. I have just completed some arduous academic work and am ready to journey forth from the pinnacle that was hard-won but worth the effort. This growth spurt may involve a physical relocation for me and my beloved family or it may not. Even as little as six months ago, the idea of this growth terrified me into stillness. It took the love of some very special people and a recent spiritual boot to the head to help me see the path of growth appear. Do I know yet where this growth will lead? Does a tree know where its branches will reach and who will find shelter beneath them?

But these are not the real questions, are they? I think the real question is this: How do we overcome fear to be able to grow, renew, and transform? Is it trust, courage, blind faith, or something else?

Leave a Reply

