What is “normal” anyway?

Today I pondered if the only constant was change. It seems sometimes like “normal” is an illusion we use to cling to the familiar. What if we release our desire to act, to think, and to be “normal”? Would the world come to an end?

An anonymously written article in the Plymouth Evening Herald (2011) commented that many people tend to think of growth in terms of something measurable: finance, the height of our children, or perhaps the size of our waistband after a good meal. The author went on to question growth in terms of intellect or spirituality. I would like to consider something a little different: Do we inhibit growth out a desire for normalcy or a fear of what the growth may bring?

Today’s thought is:

“If we’re growing, we’re always going to be out of our comfort zone.” — John Maxwell

Today I felt myself going through some spiritual growing pains and groaned “not again.” I feel like I just did a mental journey that was the equivalent of climbing Mount Everest. More growth? You’ve got to be kidding, right? Can’t I just rest and enjoy National Margarita Day (which I’m told it is)? But if change is the only constant and growth is part of positive change and self-renewal, it seems like I should just relax and enjoy the new journey.

But I still want that margarita!

Leave a Reply

