Rollercoasters

Who among us doesn’t like a good roller coaster? I know that my mom does not because of the stomach-turning dips and turns. Me personally, I like the loop-de-loops the best. The brief sensation of defying gravity and surviving it intact is incredible! The roller coaster is a terrific metaphor for change because you go through many ups, downs, twists, turns, and the occasional white-knuckling “holy moley, I’m going to die” part.

This week, I encountered many changes in rapid succession. I started teaching a new session of classes, had a contract verbally severed, and learned of the death of a friend with whom I was close during high school. Each change challenged some part of my perception of security and stability, including some wonderful benefits as well as some challenges. Were the changes uncomfortable on some level? You betcha! In retrospect, I realize that this week was kind of like the fast part of a roller coaster: sometimes terrifying, but a chance to challenge that which scares me. I don’t know if you’re like me, but when I approach the end of that slow, initial, upward climb of the roller coaster, I find myself thinking for a very brief moment, “How can I get off of this thing before it scares me?” But once I reach the end and discover that my glasses are still intact (not broken at the bottom of the ride somewhere) and that somehow I had made it through alive, I feel a huge surge of relief and triumph in having faced my fears yet again.

Does this ride look scary or what?

Did I survive this week’s roller coaster of changes? Obviously, or else I have gained the ability to post this blog post-mortem. Are there more changes coming soon? Well, I now have the opportunity to reach yet more minds through my teaching, get to gain more experience in contract work, and will be reuniting with some friends from my long-ago past.

I think my favorite quote of the week with which I want to close this post is:

“This is about life being ahead of you and you run at it! Because you never know how far you can run unless you run.” –Diane Lane as Penny Tweedy in Secretariat

Be fearless, dear ones! Embrace the changes and enjoy the journey.

Leave a Reply

