The light side of darkness

Photo of a cloud illuminated by sunlight.

On every journey, there are times of darkness of light, right? On any given road trip, there are tunnels, shady roads, and frighteningly narrow paths as well as areas of wide-open road, stunning blue skies, and that joyous feeling of the wind in your face. As much as each time of darkness heightens our appreciation of the light, the reverse is also true. I can think of countless times when I have driven with the sun in my eyes, longing for a turn or a bit of shade that would give me relief from the brightness. I can also recall traveling through forests or on foggy days when I welcomed that first sign of light breaking through and reveling in its brilliance and warmth.

This past week, I experienced a pair of events that threatened to rock me to my very core. Both events affected my sense of security, one in my home and the other in my friendships and self-perception. As I reflect on them, I realize that I could dwell on the darkness and become angry and bitter; however, I saw that I could expend the same energy and seek the light, elusive as it may seem. I think it’s in these events that we remind ourselves of who we are: our unique beauty, our strength and courage, and our resilience in the face of potentially damaging external forces.

Mike Dooley, the author of the website The Universe Today, commented that our physical self is only a construct formed of materials from the rest of the universe, fragments of matter and chemicals that have joined to form a shell for the soul. Furthermore, Dooley comments that our souls are a part of the Creator who made us. As such, we each carry the Creator within us. In the movie What Dreams May Come, one character asks the protagonist who he is: Is he his body? His heart? Or perhaps something else?  The protagonist’s response is that if all the physical should fall away, he would still be himself. Who are we then? Are we something more than the physical: more than our house, our possessions, our career, and our relationships? Yes. Absolutely, yes.

The person you are is a result of your choices. What you choose to believe is true, is true. That which we decide is important becomes part of our focus. Dwelling on negative events, feelings, and comments from other people influences our perception of ourselves. So does dwelling on the positive. We are what we believe to be true.

From my recent experiences, here are my conclusions for the week:

  • The love in my house, not the structure itself, is the only important thing.
  • I alone define myself. My friends can say what they see, but their perception can be incomplete and colored by beliefs and other experiences over which I have no control.
  • I choose my outlook, and I choose to be a light to others.
  • I can be a light on a person’s path, but that person must choose to see the light.

If all else should fall away, I would still be me: brilliant, beautiful, talented, lovable, caring, and with unlimited potential. I am a piece of creation itself.

 

Leave a Reply

