Hope, happiness, and joy: The unseen rope

On this mother’s day in the United States, I awoke this morning with a little trepidation. Would the day bring happiness, joy, stress, disappointment, or some combination of all of the above? As soon as I walked into the kitchen, I became certain of the day’s tone, for this is what I found waiting for me:

I  don’t remember the last time I was given a corsage, much less a beautiful orchid, lovingly chosen by my husband and older daughter.  It started me off with joy  and happiness this morning and was quickly followed by coffee, prepared by the same daughter, and mother’s day kisses and presents. The happiness and joy twined with the hope I felt earlier,  forming a shimmering, unseen braid.

I have experienced that feeling of being at the end of my rope, meaning that things seem hopeless and happiness and joy have disappeared in the face of fear and desperation. It occurred to me this morning that the golden braid of hope, happiness, and joy is the rope that serves as our lifeline. Consider that for a moment. If the end of the rope is despair and hopelessness, then the rope itself must be the opposite.

“Never let go of hope. One day you will see that it all has finally come together. What you have always wished for has finally come to be. You will look back and laugh at what has passed and you will ask yourself… ‘How did I get through all of that?”– Anonymous

I love that quote, because the unseen rope of hope/happiness/joy is precisely what gets you through all difficulties, sorrow, and tribulations. You hope for a better future, seek happiness in the smallest corners, and find joy in unexpected places. As a strong rope is made of many strands, so is this unseen one. The more hope, happiness, and joy that you allow into your life, the stronger the rope becomes.

Be open to hope, happiness, and joy. They are your lifeline.

3 thoughts on “Hope, happiness, and joy: The unseen rope

  1. This is such a lovely post! When I have children I hope they are as kind to me as yours are to you! I am more than happy to approve your pingback, as I would like people to see how lovely your article is!
    Keep Smiling 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

