The Creator has a child’s voice

 

My children were sent to me to amaze, humble, inspire, and challenge me in so many ways. It’s easy to find the negative ways: all the bickering, the “I’ll do it later,” the sassing. It’s much more difficult to see the wisdom and acknowledge it for what it is: the Creator speaking through a child.

The Creator lives in each of us, and I believe that my almost-10-year-old-going-on-40 child came into her own on a lot of levels in the last week or so. I’m not sure what inspired the change; all I know is that she did.

Some background details first, though.

For the last 3 years, a friend and I have been working on an accounting textbook. Accounting is an innately dry subject, but it doesn’t have to be boring — at least that’s our belief about it. About a month ago, we had a publisher ask us for our manuscript to review it for publication. We agreed, somehow not remembering how much time and energy it would take to prepare it for publication.

This past week or so, I’ve been busy writing all the word problems that students universally hate. Yes, I’m the cause of the anxiety for students. And proud of it!  My older daughter asked me what I was doing, so I told her. She then surprised me by asking, “Is it fact or fiction?” Fiction, I explained, but based on fact. My partner writes just the facts. My daughter then replied with, “So you write fact-based fiction. Cool!” I can’t express how that one statement blew me away in its simplicity and wisdom.

But there’s more.

This past weekend, the same child wrote me a note and insisted that she pin it to my calendar in the bedroom before I read it. The note reads, “Don’t let the past dictate who you are. Look at the future and all the fun stuff ahead.”

I was completely floored. Who is this person, and what did she do with my child? Somehow, she knew exactly what I needed to hear in the moment I needed to hear it. That one nugget of wisdom is so very profound and extends to nearly every part of my life.  I’m not sure what prompted her to say it, but I’m glad she did!

And I thank the Creator for giving this wise not-so-little girl (and her equally wise sister!) to me. Can’t you see the wisdom in their eyes?

 

One thought on “The Creator has a child’s voice

  1. Thank you for the honor of linking to Source of Inspiration to your beautiful blog. Your daughter’s wisdom has a message for me, too. I find myself making projects out of things that should be fun. When I looked at your list of accomplishments, it made me wonder how long you could lie in a hammock and listen to the birds sing. It took me a very long time to be able to do this without feeling I had to just up and DO something. I have retired several times and need to do it again. What is it that drives us so. I am a zillion times better about living the moment but still a long way to go. Thanks for sharing this story. hugs,, pat

Leave a Reply

