Grains of sand

Sand dunes in death valley national park edit 2

 

I spent some time last night with my friend, Longfellow. I read “Sand of the Desert in an Hourglass,” and reflected on his words and how they crossed my path at that moment. His poem speaks to how many people have touched a particular grain of sand and what each person might have been doing or feeling as they unknowingly touched it. To me, it reminds of those tiny, insignificant things that most of us never notice and how they connect us to each other and to life itself.

 

How insignificant we all are– and how important and interconnected our life is!

 

For instance, as I write these words, I’m listening to a trance/house music track that is fairly obscure and I might never have found had it not been a coincidence that it played one night on my Spotify while I was attempting to concentrate on another bit of writing. I love the track because it simultaneously relaxes and invigorates me. I feel more alive when I listen to it. Someone else might hear it and dismiss it as unappealing.

 

I think nearly everything in our perception could be classified as such.

 

We hardly notice the beauty of the air we breathe until it changes in some way. Last night, I left the windows open as long as I could because of the lovely wood-smoke aroma that graced the evening. Or consider water: we don’t notice how much we need and enjoy it until we are thirsty.

 

So how many people have touched the same molecule of water or oxygen as we have? Certainly we are not the first to touch it. What might their lives have been? Where were they? Who were they?

 

Following that thought, consider the Creator-spirit that looks through the eyes of every being and appears in the myriad colors and textures of this world. How can the Creator have time for me and my petty problems when I am but a minuscule part of all of creation? The Creator has not only every living being, but all of this earth and every other bit of every other earth and star in his or her care, none of which are precisely alike. How unique and beautiful and incredibly complex creation is!

 

And how precious and interconnected it and we all are.

 

 

One thought on “Grains of sand

Leave a Reply

