Does anybody even notice?

The Soul sign- "The soul is the most impo...
The Soul sign- “The soul is the most important part of a person.” -Bess Ross 

I don’t think I’m the only person that has wondered if anyone noticed or cared or was in some way alike. I think that is much of the reason why we seek validation of our lives, in whatever form it takes. As I read other people’s blogs and other autobiographical stories, I know some part of me seeks a link between that person and me; for example, a shared experience, a similar event, or a common belief.

Why do we do that?

As I pointed out in my last post, we are all incredibly interconnected– eerily so, if you really think about it. Just where has that molecule of water been? I don’t think I really want to know, to be honest. Our own bodies are merely products of elements of the universe that have formed into the shell that houses our soul. But what is the soul?

That is the question that has puzzled philosophers and scientists for millennia.

This concept of  “soul” is elusive at best. It is part of every person, but is unmeasurable, unseeable, untouchable. It is the part of us that makes each person unique. However, as an ambiguous, undefinable entity, science cannot define it. We turn to philosophers and spiritualists, and the best answer they have is that the soul simply is.

I have a theory: Our soul is the breath of the Creator in each of us. It is the spark that makes us alive and makes each of us who we are. We can honor and glorify it by nurturing it through life-giving relationships, pursuit of knowledge, and fulfillment of our potential, or we can ignore it out of fear.

Yesterday at church, we had a man tell his story as part of the church’s appeal for stewardship. He mentioned that he was apprehensive about telling the story of his faith journey because it might not compare favorably with a traditional sermon from our beloved rector. He was wrong. His story, boring and mundane as it might seem to him, was a wonderful way to connect with the people in the congregation. As I walked past him later in the service, I told him that personal stories are often the best sermons. They connect us all to each other, validate each other’s lives, and give different people hope. They strengthen the connection between souls.

Back to my original question: Why do we need validation that our life, our work, our self matters? It is the small, scared part of us that doesn’t yet trust the ubiquitous Creator spirit that is in every person. It is the part of us that longs to share our story in the hopes that someone will understand. It is the person reading blogs and personal accounts, trying to find a kindred spirit. It is me, reading books in which the heroine is strong, unique, but flawed and human, searching for clues to help me discover more of who I am.

Does anyone notice? Unless all 6,999,999,999 other people on this planet are completely blind or deaf, The odds are pretty good that someone does. What’s more likely is that more people notice you than you will ever know.

Yes, I’m talking to you, beautiful, unique, amazing child of the universe. You are noticed, and our world would not be the same without you.

Leave a Reply

