Things Not To Say To The Chronically Ill

I think the advice in this blog also applies to anyone with a chronic, debilitating illness. I have Rheumatoid Arthritis, which by itself may not be as life-threatening as other illnesses, but I found that these words certainly apply — and I have heard every one of them delivered by some well-meaning soul at some point.

Simply danLrene's Opinion

This was on a site of what not to say to someone brain injured, but I can tell you that it is also things not to say to those chronically ill. I hear from folks all the time asking me to write on this topic and I plan on writing a blog later on it, after I get over this surgery and travel to the hospitals but for now this is a great list.
Here are a few things you might find yourself saying that are probably not helpful:

1. You seem fine to me.

Your loved one may look normal, but shrugging off the invisible signs of illness is diminishing to a person that is chronically ill. It does not make them feel better. Many can not see the illness in others because they are called “invisible illnesses” for a reason.  Also in this category is telling people they…

View original post 1,167 more words

Leave a Reply

