A Heart Full of Hope

English: The photographer's wedding ring and i...
The photographer’s wedding ring and its heart-shaped shadow in a dictionary. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

“There has been no one brighter than you

 

I can’t deny these things that I do

 

Feels like the world’s at stake ’cause

 

I have been waiting, I have been waiting for you”

 

SealWaiting for You

 

This is one of my all-time favorite songs because it speaks of hope, anticipation, esteem, and so many other wonderful positive emotions associated with patience. It evokes in me the feelings I remember when my beloved husband and I realized that we were meant to be married. That day was January 28, 2000, and we were so moved by the realization that we have that date engraved inside our wedding bands. It was the day that we knew, beyond any doubt that our wait for our mate had ended. Thirteen years later, I’d still marry him, despite all the heartache and trials that we have witnessed together. He was and is continues to be worth the wait.

 

I feel the same way about “the job” that awaits me. It’s a matter of finding it. I know, somewhere deep in my soul, that this same feeling of mutual waiting and joyous discovery accompanies it. I have a daily email subscription to a service called Reflections of Light, and I’ll never forget the message of a couple of days ago: Never forget that all the desires of your heart, every deepest need,every heart-shattering experience, is also experienced by God, for she is as much a part of your soul as you are.

 

Think about that for a moment. The Creator of this Universe — of which we are but an infinitesimal piece — has deemed us so important that She inhabits our souls. I dare you to wrap your mind around that and consider the profoundness of that idea. Now couple it with the idea of joyous wait and the ecstasy of discovery.

 

After a long period of anxiety, a few days respite from work along with the soul-nourishing love of my family has changed the wait into a time of joyous anticipation. I plan to hold on to this feeling as long as I can, especially when things seem as bleak as I have experienced.

 

It is also my wish for you. If I could give you a holiday gift, it would be the ability to experience joyous waiting. Accept it, for it is yours.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Heart Full of Hope

Leave a Reply

