How do you express happiness?

I think we live in a society where everyone wants to be happy but celebrates being miserable.

Think about it. What comprises the vast majority of news stories? Someone’s misery. What is happening on your Facebook feed? People are complaining about . I can’t remember how many times I have heard “Thank God It’s Friday” or have seen cartoons/pictures that depict how much people hate Mondays. If I post something about being happy on my Facebook feed, I receive very few responses, but the moment I post something that has upset me, I receive an overwhelming response.

The old adage is “misery loves company.” Is that because we hope other people feel as bad as we do? If so, why on earth do we celebrate sadness?

I visited an old picture of me, my husband and my older daughter when she was 17 months of age. The year was 2004. I was 6 months pregnant with our second daughter, and the picture was taken on Easter Sunday. As I look at my eyes, I don’t see true happiness there. I remember the time well and how unhappy I was — which seems odd because I had a good job, a loving husband, and a beautiful child. What is there to be unhappy about? Ok, so the pregnancy was a little difficult and my older daughter was never a good sleeper when she was little. My job frustrated and bored me.

Flash forward to today. I no longer remember what it was like to wake up without a smile on my face, a cat purring at me, and two lovely angels who are growing too quickly. I can’t imagine being truly unhappy anymore. I love my work, where I live, and everything about my life.. Yes, I have periods of challenge and the occasional tough situation, but I also have the experience to know that these things are temporary.

I can no longer remember how it feels to be as unhappy as I was in that picture. However, I can’t broadcast that on my social network because no one wants to hear about it.

I’ll just let Pharrell Williams sing about it for me.

One thought on “How do you express happiness?

Leave a Reply

