Diamonds from the Sky

This winter has been less snowy than what I consider wonderful. Let’s put it this way: The most we’ve had is three inches, while we had at least a foot or two at this time the last couple of years. It’s been a bit disappointing, to say the least.

And then came this evening’s snow storm, which I hardly call a “storm,” but ok– I defer to the meteorologists’ judgment. I was driving home from my students’ club meeting to see thousands of tiny diamonds in my headlights. It seems so magical and I don’t recall seeing the snow with just this quality before in my life. I was driving home and was transfixed by all the glittering diamonds in the car’s headlights: More than I could count, and it was a challenge to pay attention to the road when these little diamonds were everywhere I looked.

This is certainly not my first snowfall. Far from it, in fact. But it’s one I’ll not forget soon.

download.jpg

One thought on “Diamonds from the Sky

Leave a Reply

