The best part of us

My social media feeds seem to have a constant stream of unbelievably outrageous content. If I believed half of what I read, I would think that people are corrupt, narcissistic, mindless, and bigoted. The daily news in the current election season seems to have no limit to the atrocities it reports.

Then I watched– truly watched — the Olympics and the media, social and otherwise, it generates. Here are the glimpses of what has struck me.

 

081016-OLY-Rio-Kristin-Armstrong-son-gold-medal-cycling-timed-trial-PI.vadapt.767.high.20

d6-1.vadapt.767.high.81

13882407_1225255730842637_8420234315957644058_n

I think that the Olympics is an opportunity to be our best, not just as athletes, but as human beings. I’m glad we have this particular set happening now. It reminds me that good people are everywhere. We just have to look for them.

Leave a Reply

