Quiet amidst chaos

I am frequently asked why I would want to live in a small rural community. After all, I grew up in metropolitan southern California and have lived in other urban/suburban areas for most of my life. The simple answer: Peace. On days like today, the loudest noise are the animals outside and the occasional train. The peace allows me to think, to breathe, to be.

I ran across a post recently that has a poem by Pablo Neruda that echoes much of why I have chosen this life. I think that if more people could learn to embrace quiet and the beauty it contains, the world would be a calmer place.

Pablo Neruda “Keeping Quiet”

One thought on “Quiet amidst chaos

Leave a Reply

