Silence…or else what?

I received criticism (albeit second hand) that I may be leaning a bit liberal in my political thought. I resent that type of criticism because it smacks of the bullying used to gain silence. What really irritated me is that it was the one in-law who has a record of bullying, narcissism, and downright abusive behavior.

My political views are born of my upbringing, living in several parts of the country, receiving multiple academic degrees, and working with the disregarded and overlooked in our country and around the world. I have found a genuine passion for teaching those regarded as unteachable by lesser teachers. I greatly enjoy connecting those in need in my community with the resources to make their lives more livable.

On the other hand, I have witnessed firsthand corporate greed in large and small companies. I have worked in the justice system and have spent time talking with a great many convicted criminals who simply need someone to listen. I also completely understand the need for oversight of governmental legislation and removing the unnecessary parts of certain laws, parts that do not provide the benefits that were intended by the parties who originally drafted the law.

At the end of it all, I believe in kindness, compassion, and caring for those facing insecurity in their basic needs. I also believe in corporate and governmental oversight. I have both a conscience and the education to not trust without verification.

For anyone who wishes to criticize me, walk a mile in my shoes– I dare you. Last I checked, I still live in a free country and I am well over 21 years of age.

 

Leave a Reply

